{Taking me with you}

As we neared NY I was talking to Morgan about whatever it was and I said the date…we both looked at one another, I repeated it and we both gasped, she had messed up and we in fact had an extra day together in NY versus what we thought would be only 1 night! Yay. One day makes a world of difference when you’re missing your other half.

I don’t remember what we did, it all is such a wonderful blur with her and her family. We did try to take the boat out which was a 2 hour drive one way only for it to sadly have mechanical problems. Not a complete loss though, we got to spend time together like 2 kids as we rode in the backseat of her parents SUV. They also stopped so I could see a wind-turbine up close! Wow, the sound they make is so soothing. What an amazing feeling to be standing in the shadow of something so wonderful.

 

 
                                                                                                                     horsing around while we should be helping launch the boat.

 

We both agreed that this time was hard. I didn’t enjoy saying good bye to her the first time why would this time be better? Our good byes get longer and longer and while she tried to leave early it was almost dark by the time she got in her car and was ready to head to Boston, which was a 4 hour drive. Before she left her son had to be a turd AGAIN and get loose and run as far as he could before she finally found him with the help of his sister! She loves being the one to sniff him out, you’ll never see a puppy more proud of herself, I swear she grins!

This time I cried only a little but felt the loss so horribly it was hard to pretend to be happy when I missed her so much. Over the next few days it wore off but of course we still missed one another. I would write her nightly emails since the cards are all done and she would call me in the morning on her way to work and smile into the phone at my groggy hello’s. I loved hearing about her day and about the woman she was staying with out there while doing her externship.

She made the drive to NY on the weekend, leaving work Friday and coming over just to turn around and leave Sunday late afternoon/early evening. One weekend she even drove here on Friday, picked me up and took me back with her just to drop me off Sunday. That was single-handedly  the best mini-weekend ever. What a blast.

 

Leave a comment